h1

Keeping FAITH turns it into FATE

September 8, 2009

The one thing that I learned these past few months during my job search was to keep FAITH!

Three weeks ago, I landed a job as the Development Manager for the American Lung Association of Central Florida.  I could not have a more perfect-fitting role.  My job at the ALA entails fundraising to save lives through the prevention of lung disease and the promotion of lung health by obtaining corporate sponsorships, corporate underwriting, and a decal campaign.

My drive for this job comes from my grandmother who past away from lung cancer a few years ago.  In spite of never smoking, she was inflicted with this disease which goes against assumptions that only smokers get lung cancer. Every day I will be telling my grandmother’s story and reminding myself that I landed this job because it was…meant to be.

If you have been following my blog, you will know that I have been networking with prominent professionals all over Central Florida.  I began even before I actually moved to Florida this past May.  I had applied for a position at the American Lung Association back when I will still in San Diego finishing my law degree.  Within a month of finally moving to Florida, I met with the Area Executive Director of the ALA, Eric Gray, just to network.

I remember leaving the ALA’s office thoroughly impressed and yearning to work for such a prestigious organization who’s mission perfectly aligned with my experiences with my grandmother. But the big E word (economy) reminded me that it simply wasn’t going to happen…at least not so soon.  However, within one week of meeting with Eric, the position of Development Manager became available.

So what were the chances that:

A. I work for an organization that keeps my grandmother’s memory alive every single day.

B. A job position became available a week after I met with the Director.

C. I live 1 mile away from the office. (Yes, literally a mile)

I believe that it was a bit of determination, but a lot of FATE.  So for those who are still in the midst of looking for a job, my advice is to keep on going and have faith because when it does happen (and it will), you will look back and see that keeping FAITH turns things into FATE.

images(Photo Credit: Seblester)

Leave a comment